Do We Really Need to Buy All This STUFF!!

Found a cool website called The Story of Stuff that makes you think twice about all those gadgets we buy. Somehow we’ve come to think of them as “must haves” – but seriously…do we really need all this stuff?

In a short video, Annie Leonard looks at the life cycle of goods, from extraction to production to distribution to consumption to disposal. How many high-tech doo-dads do you consider absolutely positively necessary? Have you bought into the idea that if you don’t have the latest version of clothes or shoes or that ultra-hot new cell phone, you can’t be cool? Do you judge yourself on whether you have what everyone else does? More than ever, people seem ready to sign up for the latest-and-greatest trends just to be like their friends.

Now I know our economy thrives on this kind of stuff and many even feel it’s our patriotic duty to do so. (Remember President Bush after 9-11?) And of course businesses design products in ways that make us want to get new versions all the time. I love Annie’s take on what she calls “perceived obsolescence” which is about being sold on the need for new when old would be just fine. This is in contrast to the long-accepted “planned obsolescence” (which still exists) where companies make things that can only last so long, driving the need for replacements. We’re now throwing away lots of stuff that works just fine. And it’s you and I who have to pay the bills.

The ironic thing is that, in search of bigger homes and more cool technology and the trendiest fashions, we are working harder than ever before and have less leisure time to enjoy all our stuff. And when we do have free time, shopping is one of our main leisure activities.

Oh…I know most of you will say “but I love shopping!” I know. But I would suggest we’ve been sold this as a culture and that if we took the time to explore what else we might be doing with our time, we might surprise ourselves by how much happier we could be. For all too many people, shopping just makes you want more stuff. So we work to shop because we think we need more stuff, and yet are always tired because we work so hard and barely have time for anything other than that stuff.

But here’s the real problem…in our rush to feed the economy and also be cool, we’re poisoning the planet and ourselves. And we’re not looking at the whole cost of these cheap, disposable electronics and other goods as it affects people who make the items in often substandard conditions, as well as areas that provide the raw materials and areas that later absorb the waste.

Annie’s video and website not only point out the problems in a clear way – and there are many of them, including the myth of recycling as a solution – but she also leaves us with some practical thoughts on how we can start to look at the whole picture as it really is and and make changes that get at the heart of our “throwaway mindset”.

We’ve been sold on a way of living that in the long run can’t be sustained. And we are all participating in this in one way or another, so this is not about finger-pointing. But there are very real things we can all start to do right now to change the way we look at and deal with all this stuff.

And that doesn’t mean we have to give up everything we love. We can still have fun while learning to build a sustainable economy. We might even discover new ways to have fun if we open up our minds to different ways of thinking about all of this STUFF.

To learn more, check out Annie’s very cool site which is great for kids or adults:

The Story of Stuff with Annie Leonard

9 Replies to “Do We Really Need to Buy All This STUFF!!”

  1. Ronnie-Ann,
    I have been asking myself this question since I came to the West.

    I was raised in the third world.
    We were taught to value what we had, and what we were given.

    Wastage was a sin, everything had a second purpose.
    We grew up playing with anything and everything found, vividly imagined to be expensive toys, which they were not. We learnt to innovate and improvise.

    I do not wish to spam your site, but this resonates with my thoughts.
    Now we have so much

    Like

  2. First of all, littleindian, you are welcome to post any link here you want. I enjoy your thoughts and I enjoy parallel resonations.

    Although I was raised in the U.S., my parents were Polish Jewish immigrants who survived WWII by hiding. They came here with nothing except each other – and my brother. They instilled in us the need to buy only what we really need and not to waste anything. To this day, I choose to live a fairly minimalist lifestyle and feel just fine about it. As a child, I too made household things into toys and had LOTS of creative fun doing that. I think it’s one of the reasons I’m good at non-packaged, creative solutions to this day. As far as I’m concerned, all kids would benefit from the “less is more” theory!

    Like

  3. It is so true what you say, that we are encouraged to waste. Its too late to teach children that less is more, when parents themselves do not believe it.
    The world, for many of us, has changed. Even so in India.

    Everything in life goes in circles.
    We will re-learn the lesson when we again ‘do not have’ to waste.

    Like

  4. Sadly that is probably the way it will happen, littleindian.

    As I see it, since more and more of our economies are based on stuff, it will take core structural changes to make any real difference. As a rational capitalist (my idealistic phrase), our only hope is to work together to acknowledge the need for and create market-driven solutions. Still working on how to make it cool and lucrative to own less and pollute less. (-; But yes…usually massive change like this is forced and not chosen, despite the illogical nature of that. (Thus my addition of the word “rational” to what I would want to see replace our current form of irrational capitalism, whose long-term costs are beyond comprehension.)

    Like

  5. Thanks for sharing this Ronnie. I will read the article. I often wonder about this too. It is only more recently in my life that I don’t need to buy ‘stuff’. Don’t get me wrong, there is a lot I like, but I often virtual/pretend shop and that seems to do the trick. Except for books of course………(Funny too, I’m just reading again James Redfield’s book: The Secret of Shambhala, In Search of the Eleventh Insight. It is focused on exactly what you have shared above!

    Like

  6. Nice synchronicity. 🙂

    I can’t help thinking this is a much more important concept than we can at first grasp. By the way, virtual shopping is great fun. I’m a big fan of the sport. Thanks as always for the lovely visit, SE.

    Like

  7. Great post, Ronnie, as usual. Even long before the term carbon footprint entered into the general lexicon, I’ve been a big fan of the small footprint. In our household, we’re maddeningly hard to buy gifts for. Our answer to “what would you like for [insert occasion here]” is almost invariably “I don’t know.” We like nice things, but we don’t need every last one of them. As Steven Wright says, “You can’t have everything. Where would you keep it?”

    Like

  8. Ha! Love Steven Wright. Great quote. By the way, a perfect present for me is Dutch chocolate…and I always have a place to put it.

    Thanks for the comment and for dropping by, Terry B.!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.