Tonight SurfaceEarth posted a short, seemingly simple post about Hope. And yet there is almost nothing more powerful – except maybe faith. For me the two go hand in hand…but they are not the same thing.

Faith can bring us peace and a sense that things will work out – somehow. But hope…aaah! Hope can move us to act. A truly amazing power.

Faith: Confidence or trust in a person or thing.

Hope: The feeling that what is wanted can be had or that events will turn out for the best.

As I struggle with challenges in my own life that at times seem insurmountable to me, the one thing that pushes me forward – the one thing that spurs me on to try again – the one thing that moves me to have faith in myself enough to break through to spiritual healing – is hope. At least that’s where it starts for me. Certainly I also have to have faith that somehow I’ll find a way, but at the very heart of change is hope.

Hope. Something too many people are without too much of the time. I promised SurfaceEarth I would pass it on. And so now I’m doing just that.

Hope can lift us up. It can fuel dreams. It can resurrect lives. It can heal wounded spirits. It can change the world one person at a time. And best of all, it costs absolutely nothing for us to share with others. But oh the wonderful things it can do!

So…here’s a thought: If at all possible, let’s take a moment or two out of our day today to offer someone hope. In whatever way feels right. And to take this one step further…if we can also think of ways to help people to have faith in themselves as well as hope…well then miracles can truly happen.

Please help me pass this on in whatever way you are moved to do so. With faith and hope, we can start to make a meaningful difference!