The Tao says “The nameless is the beginning of heaven and Earth.” But when you’re coming up with new blog posts, I gotta say names sure can make a huge difference!

Sometimes I’ll post something with a title that I’m especially proud of. But then…no hits. More time passes…still no hits. Hmmm…maybe the title, although oh so meaningful and darn amusing to me, just doesn’t mean anything to anyone else. Hey…I grok that.

So I try to figure out something that might be better and try again. And if necessary again. And then…voila! People start coming. Same post, just a different name. Sometimes it’s nothing more than a slight change. Sometimes it’s a major overhaul. Kind of like a puzzle with endless permutations.

OK. So maybe the new name isn’t quite as funny or conceptually cool as the original name; but cryptic can get tiring fast when it comes to blogs and blog titles. And if it helps readers find me, I’m happy. And yes…I know blogging is also self-entertainment and I’m not suggesting anyone sacrifice that…but for me it’s just better when I can share it with others. I love the visits and I love getting your points of view.

So, while I see lots of good stuff in the Tao Te Ching, I guess there simply are times that call for names – as well as other sources of wisdom. In this case, I turn to the lesser known Tao of Advertising for these instructive words:

If you name it, they will come!

OK. It’s really the Tao of Costner with a slight twist. I don’t claim to be perfect. As the real Tao says:

Give up sainthood, renounce wisdom,
And it will be a hundred times better for everyone.

If only Kevin Costner had read that before making some of his other films!