One year ago today my mother died quite suddenly. Oh, she was no youngster and I guess I shouldn’t have been as shocked as I was, but even at 87 she still seemed amazingly strong and just brimming with life spirit. I still miss her tremendously.

This is not to say our relationship didn’t have ups and downs. Lots of downs. Really…lots and lots of downs. But in the last years, we kind of made peace with all that and found a way to be there with and for each other – making room for the differences and remembering to tell each other about the good stuff. And remembering the love.

At the moment, I don’t need to talk about all she was or wasn’t. I don’t even need to tell you what a terrifically hard and yet life-affirming transition this past year has been for me. I just want to say:

Hey mom! I miss you. I love you. I think about you every day. And I hope you’re doing something totally cool wherever you are. You’re in my heart always. You did good, kiddo. Thank you for being my mom.

Ya che kochem, matke!