Today rather than twisting myself into a pretzel trying to figure out which of my actions are right and which are wrong or will I hurt someone’s feelings or let someone down or do something stupid, I’m just giving myself permission to be myself. That’s it. Just me.

Trust my own feelings and my needs. Act from my own beliefs and not what I think I should do based on everyone else’s opinions or needs. I’m a good person. If I make mistakes (whatever the hell that really means) it’s ok. Lord knows I’ll make ’em anyway. Might as well ease up on trying so hard not to. It’s a lot of work and I’m exhausted!

Funny thing is that Pretzel People like me usually find out that what we thought was so big and potentially horrendous was no big deal in the first place. Most of the people in our lives don’t even notice the change when we stop pretzeling – other than maybe noticing we aren’t so frazzled all the time.

So today…no pretzels. But what about tomorrow? Let’s just see how it goes today. No pressure. Hmmm…nice feeling.

And now…following that moving train of thought…just sent these lyrics to someone and decided they were worth sharing since they’re bouncing around in my head anyway:

Garden Party
(by Rick Nelson)

I went to a garden party
To reminisce with my old friends
A chance to share old memories
And play our songs again

When I got to the garden party
They all knew my name
No one recognized me
I didn’t look the same.

But it’s all right now
I learned my lesson well
You see, ya can’t please everyone
So ya got to please yourself.

People came from miles around
Everyone was there
Yoko brought her walrus
There was magic in the air

N’ over in the corner
Much to my surprise
Mr. Hughes hid in Dylan’s shoes
Wearing his disguise.

But it’s all right now
I learned my lesson well
You see, ya can’t please everyone
So ya got to please yourself.

Played them all the old songs
Thought that’s why they came
No one heard the music
We didn’t look the same

I said hello to “Mary Lou”
She belongs to me
When I sang a song about a honky-tonk
It was time to leave.

But it’s all right now
I learned my lesson well
You see, ya can’t please everyone
So ya got to please yourself.

Someone opened up a closet door
And out stepped Johnny B Goode
Playing guitar
Like a-ringin’ a bell
And lookin’ like he should.

If you gotta play at garden parties
I wish you a lotta luck
But if memories were all I sang
I’d rather drive a truck.

But it’s all right now
I learned my lesson well
You see, ya can’t please everyone
So ya got to please yourself.

I just love those lyrics. Sigh. Why is simply being ourselves so easy for some people and SOOOOOOO hard for so many others – including me! But for today…I am just letting myself be myself.

Wanna join me???

Oh…and by the way…it feels easier already. Except for this sudden hankering for pretzels.

——

For more on Ricky Nelson and a little about why he wrote Garden Party, here’s the Wikipedia article: Ricky Nelson